Twitter is testing an “unmentioning” feature that will allow users to remove themselves from conversations. There are a few people who can use it, but it’s currently only available on the web version, and it appears to be an excellent way to organize your mentions.
An experiment with unmentioning is being conducted to help people “proteTwitter says it’s experimenting with ‘unmentioning’ to keep their peace and remove themselves from conversations,” the tweet reads. Short GIFs were posted to its Twitter Safety account to show how the new feature will look.
“Leave this conversation” will appear in the menu that pops out of the corner of a tweet in the web version of Twitter. The option to muffle or embed is also included in this feature. When you select the “leave this conversation” option, a new menu appears with information about what happens when you leave a conversation: your username is untagged, future mentions in that conversation are halted, and perhaps most importantly, notifications are stopped.
A screenshot of the “leave this conversation” function, purportedly taken by Twitter researcher and reverse-engineer Jane Manchun Wong, was tweeted in February. Her sleuthing paid off, as is often the case in these situations.
Especially for those who are subjected to harassment on Twitter, having the option to leave a tweet conversation that has devolved into an argument or has simply become boring is a welcome addition to Twitter. It allows you to exit gracefully without a lot of fanfare.